By JP SALVADOR

Jean Derick Catalan currently playing for the Science City of Muñoz senior team who’s now seeing action in the ongoing Kasali All Basketball League (KABL) one of the biggest inter-town basket in the province. Truth be told, he is one of the best power forwards in the said league averaging 19 points per game.

Good things are not on his side as he shared why he is not able to study for college. He began playing basketball to the point he don’t want to go to school anymore.  But now he started to have his own what ifs and regrets.

Quezon City basketball league 2019- Anjo Estrada

“Nauna yung paglalaro, na dumating sa point na nagsisisi ako kung bakit hindi ako nakapagaral sa college,”

said 6-foot-1 forward, Catalan.

The undefeated and claimed lead share coach Jun Nerona believes that Catalan deserve to study in college. “Kung pagbibigayan siguro siya ng pagkakataon mag aral thru basketball magandang pagkakataon yun para sa kanya.”

Catalan started playing basketball at an early age by the help of his father. Idolizing Michael Jordan keeps his morale at a high level inside the court.

Coach Jun Nerona also told the JP Sports that Catalan is very coachable, whatever position or play he instructed, Catalan will try to execute.

“Kung ano ipagawa mo sa kanya gagawin naman n’ya. More on forward kasi ang skills nya, pero ang height n’ya is 6’1”, kaya medyo off ang position sa height n’ya,”

he added.

A 6-foot-1 baller is surely a shooting guard, it is a rare position he is doing for the team Muñoz now but this Novo Ecijano baller can contribute digits per game.

Photo credits to KABL

“I want to thank all my coaches who help me, teach me in court and outside the court, guide me, and advise what they’ve learned in life. To my father and my brother who influences me and taught me how to play basketball thanks to them because they are the one who introduce basketball to me. And to my family especially my grandfather who support me since day one up to now, thank you.”

A lot of awards and championship on his jersey donning his name on it at the age of 24. Catalan never forget to thank his coaches and family who supports and guide him in every game.

Published by thejpsports

Engr

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started